Showing posts with label waterloo. Show all posts
Showing posts with label waterloo. Show all posts

Thursday, June 17, 2010

The Waterloo Roid-rriors (2)

Most people have now heard about University of Waterloo’s decision to shut down its football program due to a steroid scandal involving 9 of the 62 players on the team. Its tough to take this information in because you hear about steroid uses in the MLB or NFL but for young adults (18-22) to use them in university play is simply too much. Yes, its competitive college football but is it THAT competitive that players need to use steroids?? Next you will see high school students on the same performance enhancing drugs!


You know what? People might say UW was too tough on their football program by shutting it down for a year but it sends a strong message to the kids out there the harsh punishments for cheating. BUT,even as I say this I can’t deny the fact what the university did is unfair. 9 students may have tested positive for steroid abuse but 52 didn’t. Where are those kids going to go now? They could transfer right? Sadly, many of them can not because of Waterloo’s unique specialized programs where most of their credits can not be transferred over to other schools.

The bottom line is in my opinion the University of Waterloo’s decision is unfair to the students who did not test positive for steroids BUT it had to be done. A message had to be sent across the league that Waterloo does not take cheating lightly. It will probably take several years (if they ever) before the University of Waterloo can rebuild its team to its full strength again. I guess only time will tell.

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Day one of UWAC

Wow, I have a lot to talk about for the first day of UWAC. This blog will probably be really boring but this one is more for me logging my experience at UWAC. Its an accounting conference people, you didn't expect it to be THAT interesting to read did you??

Woke up at 6am (slept at about 3:30am). It was so funny/ awkward. I asked my sister if her washroom was free for me to brush my teeth and she told me yes so I walked in her room. Thats when I awkwardly met her friend for the first time...I'll leave it at that. <--- Jenny, you're the only one who knows that joke so SHH!

We get to the hotel at 7am and I helped the UWAC team by carrying their giftbags to the lobby. Aren't I the best delegate ever? Anyways, so I didn't have to go register until 10am so I took the longest shower I've ever had in the hotel room but that was only 40minutes long (I'm a guy, 40 minutes in the shower is a lifetime). I found it very funny how the UWAC team was all dressed up and I was in my casual clothes but after I showered and went downstairs I was fully suited up, Barney Stinson would be proud!

I registered at 9am where I was one of the earilest people, which meant I got to talk to all the early delegates. I'm really glad I didn't know any delegates at UWAC because that meant I got to truly mingle with fellow CA prospects. I definitely sharpened my networking skills today and I'm really proud of that. I got out of my comfort zone which is a good thing.

I met many interesting people today from BC all the way to Nova Scotia! UWAC was so diverse the year!! Every university that has a decent business program had someone represent them. I'm just going to name the schools I remember seeing people from: Waterloo, Laurier, Bishop, Simon Fraser, University of British Columbia, University of Alberta, Queens, Ryerson's Ted Rogers, UofT sg, UofT sc, UofT m, Schulich, McGill, UOIT, University of Nova Scotia, Brock. There was maybe one or two more schools but thats all I can remember.

I was SO hungry at times but I had to fight through the tiredness and keep meeting / talk with other people. I talked to Mr.Greenwood and had a great talk with him. We talked about his company's social responsibility and what his perspective is about different issues. I also talked to him about the most important asset on any resume to get a co-op. He was extremely helpful, I hope I get to talk to him tomorrow, I have another topic I want to discuss with him.

COOL -->At the dinner I was sitting with other delegates + Jenny + a man named Jay Chai. Let me just say great dinner, so yummy. The funny thing is Jay and I started talking about UFC and our perspectives of the Machida/Shogun fight and who we thought was the pound for pound best in MMA. We talked about the Raptors, Jays, so pretty much all sports. I later tell that to my sister and she tells me he's a senior executive at Deloitte (One of the biggest accounting firms in the world) and he is some one I should get to know if I ever want to work at Deloitte. I'm like wow.... I just had a MMA conversation with a senior executive, he was so cool!!

After there was a casino night. WOW great way to end the night!!! Canny, I know you would of had so much fun playing poker here because it was against other students and even some business executives! I did pretty well. Jenny, you were the hardest working dealer! And you were a pretty damn good dealer too, good job. Jeffrey, I'm sorry... I can't say the same to you because I didn't win big when I played blackjack at your table. I think Olivia is very very cool, she busted a lot which is why I went to her table =) I kid I kid, she just got unlucky a few times, she does seem like a very fun person to talk to.

Okay so that's day 1. Day 2? More work! Hmm.... lets not call it work because I'm starting to like UWAC, its exciting tasks and activities!

Monday, March 29, 2010

Xin's Dragonboat

Xin you know I love the whole Dragon Boat thing and I'll probably join my school's team next year just to compete with you. In saying that, this photo just made me laugh. No homo.
RAWR!
I think this is your cheer.
"WATER, WATER, WATER" - "LOO!, LOO!, LOO!"

Sunday, January 31, 2010

UWDB!

Fun day yesterday. First going to play pool with Xin at UWP.Then playing table tennis with Jeffrey and Xin at V1Alright, we all know Xin always talks about his Dragonboat team and I have to say, they are pretty cool (Many of them also love the Beatles). Partying with them was crazy to say the least. George, the 7 foot tall guy is so jokes, rapping to random songs. They kept trying to convert me to be a Dragonboat member but I'm not sure if they know I'm not even from Waterloo!I got pretty messed up too. You know what I found out? When I drink I think I'm able to dance to 'Wedding Dress'. Which I can not.... But enough about what happened to me, Xin was gone last night! First one out, which I know sounds bad but he took alot before he blacked out (puking everywhere in George's room, including his computer!). Calvin passed out a bit after Xin but at least he wasn't puking everywhere. Thank you Siva for coming to Loo for the party even if you're in co-op. You didn't pass out and partied all night with me!

I remember we wanted to play a new game no one has ever played before so a guy grabbed a bunch of poker chips and a LCBO bag and yes, we invited a new drinking game. Maybe not new, I'm sure other people have done it before, but wow, being able to make up random crap when you are drunk is shocking.
Drunk Xin + Jenga = Funniest thing ever

So Xin had a bit too much to drink. What killed him was 'fuck the dealer'. With a name like fuck the dealer I have no idea why Xin volunteered to be the dealer, but hey, I'm glad he had fun.
Tipsy Xin on his iPhone

Drunk Xin falling and begging for help

Passed out Xin rolling on the ground

Siva and a woken up Xin finding the four empty 1.75L of vodka!
How did we do it!

So I'm not sure when the party ended but basically everyone left at once but me and Siva had to stay behind and wait for Xin and Calvin to wake up. I remember George telling us "don't take the beers in the fridge, those are my roommate's." I'm sorry George, we drank them...
Hey hey hey, but we are nice guys, after we drank a few Heinekens we put them back in hopes they wouldn't notice we took anything.
Why is there 1 left not open!

Overall it was an exciting night. I remember waking up Calvin so we could get out of the place before George woke up. When Calvin asked why we responded because Xin barfed all over his room and we didn't want a 7footer killing us! The walk back home is always fun, especially with Calvin running like a crab because he was still pretty drunk.