Wednesday, May 5, 2010

The look alikes

The one on the left is Lisa's friend. His name is Robin. The one on the right is Hong-Man Choi. He is a mixed martial arts fighter.

So do these people look alike? I say yes! The one on the right just has a longer face.

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

UWAC-vlog

A short video while I was waiting for my ride. UWAC was done at this point and it was just me and the UWAC team. They were in a meeting so I decided to make a quick vlog.

*The volumes a bit low on the video. I'm sorry! By the time I noticed I already uploaded everything. So maybe just turn up your volume a little to enjoy the video better =) Watch the Video in 480p!

Monday, May 3, 2010

Car bomb found in Times Square

The bad part about UWAC is how I haven't been up to date about world news. I didn't hear about the failed car bomb attempt in New York until today. I'm sure I speak for every one when I say I'm glad the time device did not work and the attack was not successful.

Who knows, maybe the time device WAS working but Jack Bauer came in to save the world once again. With the help of Chloe O'Brien too of course. (I'm a huge '24' fan so sorry if you don't understand the joke)

Sunday, May 2, 2010

UWAC day 2 + 3 (Heyy, heyy, heyy)

Its Sunday night and I'm not going to lie, I'm super tired but the sleep in the car ride home helped.

UWAC day 2 was better than the first day just because I think I met much more people at the socials + the dance + semiformal + the presentation + creampoloy. There was the case competitions which I simply loved. Sadly, I think the presentation was my favourite part of the conference because I like working under pressure in an advisory role. I know, I'm pretty nerdy for ENJOYING the case, but then again, most of the people who went to UWAC are the students who take initiative and like to get involved.

Jenny, creamoploy = the most confusing game ever!! BUT I would love to play again because now that I understand the game, I also know the strategies to win. I don't know how you invented this game, you're so creative!
UWAC-2010!!!
At the dinner I sat beside a former co-chair. He was the one who picked my sister onto the UWAC team so like wow... Plus his name was also Richard which makes him automatically awesome haha. I talked to him about university and co-op but some how it ended up to be about UFC again haha. We were talking about my trip to Montreal this weekend. Honestly it was great talking to him just because I find MMA fans were a small breed at this conference.

The dance was decent. Alright it was a Waterloo dance so OF COURSE its not like Laurier's but thats because Laurier people are really open (and white) so their dances are usually better. In saying that, the dance was fun but I don't know if I'm saying that because of the alcohol consumption ha...ha.....

After the dance I was lucky enough to party with the UWAC execs (the benefit of being the co-chair's brother muhaha). Christine even bought me alcohol which I did find surprising but was very happy about it =). After people were done drinking I was the garbageman. Does that mean I cleaned up? Helllll no! It meant I finished the liquor in all the bottles! It was about a cup of different vodkas mixed together. What I was really shocked was I shared some with Olivia. These were hard liquors and I assume she does not drink much. Shes so cool, fun to have at a party for sure.

So yeah, that was day 2. Jenny had A LOT of fun. Right Jenny? haha. Jeffrey drank a bit which I can say is very cool. Small steps!

The final day I was running on lack of sleep (I can't complain because UWAC people got much less than me). Breakfast was so yummy! The entire weekend the food was great. Much much better than I expected and the service right up there with the quality of the food.

Andy Thibodeau is an intersting fellow, very funny. I enjoyed his motivational speech. AND I enjoyed watching the slideshow of the UWAC weekend. Andy was right, the music was truly amazing and fit perfectly with the video. I'm SO shocked they knew the song Bedouin Soundclash - "When the Night Feels My Song".

Best person I talked to all weekend was definitely Mr Greenwood. By the end of the conference he knew my name haha. I talked to him every chance I got because since he was in the power business he would have a lot of insight on social responsibily which I'm really interested in. Hope he had a good flight back to Hong Kong. SPEAKING of HK.... It seems like everyone is going back, cough* Jenny... Lucky!!!

UWAC was great I'll probably go one more time, maybe when I'm in 3rd year. For those who actually read these longg blogs about UWAC: Wow you have a lot of time and I will go back to talk about global issues, UFC, and maybe a bit about my life.

UWAC-2010 memories for lifee!

> And I guess since these blogs have been a bit boring I'll throw in a Song of the Day: Find your Love - Drake. Its a brand new song so I'm sure none of you have heard it before, enjoy. If you hear me say "Heyy, heyy, heyy" you will know which song I'm referring to.
I'm more than just an option
(hey hey hey)
refuse to be forgotten
(hey hey hey)
I took a chance with my heart
(hey hey hey)

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Day one of UWAC

Wow, I have a lot to talk about for the first day of UWAC. This blog will probably be really boring but this one is more for me logging my experience at UWAC. Its an accounting conference people, you didn't expect it to be THAT interesting to read did you??

Woke up at 6am (slept at about 3:30am). It was so funny/ awkward. I asked my sister if her washroom was free for me to brush my teeth and she told me yes so I walked in her room. Thats when I awkwardly met her friend for the first time...I'll leave it at that. <--- Jenny, you're the only one who knows that joke so SHH!

We get to the hotel at 7am and I helped the UWAC team by carrying their giftbags to the lobby. Aren't I the best delegate ever? Anyways, so I didn't have to go register until 10am so I took the longest shower I've ever had in the hotel room but that was only 40minutes long (I'm a guy, 40 minutes in the shower is a lifetime). I found it very funny how the UWAC team was all dressed up and I was in my casual clothes but after I showered and went downstairs I was fully suited up, Barney Stinson would be proud!

I registered at 9am where I was one of the earilest people, which meant I got to talk to all the early delegates. I'm really glad I didn't know any delegates at UWAC because that meant I got to truly mingle with fellow CA prospects. I definitely sharpened my networking skills today and I'm really proud of that. I got out of my comfort zone which is a good thing.

I met many interesting people today from BC all the way to Nova Scotia! UWAC was so diverse the year!! Every university that has a decent business program had someone represent them. I'm just going to name the schools I remember seeing people from: Waterloo, Laurier, Bishop, Simon Fraser, University of British Columbia, University of Alberta, Queens, Ryerson's Ted Rogers, UofT sg, UofT sc, UofT m, Schulich, McGill, UOIT, University of Nova Scotia, Brock. There was maybe one or two more schools but thats all I can remember.

I was SO hungry at times but I had to fight through the tiredness and keep meeting / talk with other people. I talked to Mr.Greenwood and had a great talk with him. We talked about his company's social responsibility and what his perspective is about different issues. I also talked to him about the most important asset on any resume to get a co-op. He was extremely helpful, I hope I get to talk to him tomorrow, I have another topic I want to discuss with him.

COOL -->At the dinner I was sitting with other delegates + Jenny + a man named Jay Chai. Let me just say great dinner, so yummy. The funny thing is Jay and I started talking about UFC and our perspectives of the Machida/Shogun fight and who we thought was the pound for pound best in MMA. We talked about the Raptors, Jays, so pretty much all sports. I later tell that to my sister and she tells me he's a senior executive at Deloitte (One of the biggest accounting firms in the world) and he is some one I should get to know if I ever want to work at Deloitte. I'm like wow.... I just had a MMA conversation with a senior executive, he was so cool!!

After there was a casino night. WOW great way to end the night!!! Canny, I know you would of had so much fun playing poker here because it was against other students and even some business executives! I did pretty well. Jenny, you were the hardest working dealer! And you were a pretty damn good dealer too, good job. Jeffrey, I'm sorry... I can't say the same to you because I didn't win big when I played blackjack at your table. I think Olivia is very very cool, she busted a lot which is why I went to her table =) I kid I kid, she just got unlucky a few times, she does seem like a very fun person to talk to.

Okay so that's day 1. Day 2? More work! Hmm.... lets not call it work because I'm starting to like UWAC, its exciting tasks and activities!