Showing posts with label school. Show all posts
Showing posts with label school. Show all posts

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Hard work leads to success

I've always believed in the philosophy of hard work will result with success in life. Of course I'm not naive and I know not everything falls into this category.

Like many of you in university I've been doing nothing but study for finals for the past week. Most of my roommates have been doing so too except for one gay exception, figurative and literal meaning intended. In my opinion some people are 'naturally' more book smart than other people, and other people work harder in school to close the disadvantage gap.

I say this because I'm wondering if Stevie (Jenny's nickname for him) is naturally smart. Now that exams are here he does nothing but play his ps2. He plays it from morning until he sleeps, no exaggeration because he even plays when I want to watch the Raptor games. I've never seen him with a textbook in hand for the entire year so is he naturally smart? He left his assignment on the table once and I opened it. He got 13/15, not bad right? Its a 87% He must be naturally smart! But then I flipped the rubric and saw what the assignment was... His assignment was to draw and colour Ontario. What The Heck..... What kind of program is he in?? I did tougher assignments in elementary school!
And people wonder why us BBA students think we are better than the rest of the school...

I guess what I'm getting at here is some people (like Stevie) do nothing in life and get away with it. It will catch up with him (Because he's not even in a professional program! And I know in 10 years I'll be in my executive office while he is still drawing pictures of Canada). So just thought this story will motivate you or at least make you laugh. Don't be like Stevie, work hard.

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Undergraduates vs. The 12year old

Throughout the year my psychology professor mentioned how his daughter was extremely gifted. Shes 12, meaning she is in grade 8 going into high school next year. One day she asked her dad if she can write our midterm exam and his response was "Of course but if you do I want you to actually work hard on it and study for it." Surprisingly she passed all 4 tests which I found to be amazing because psychology is no easy course. I find it especially difficult just because I'm a BBA student and I'm used to balance sheets and cashflow statements instead of biological terms such as Valium, Xanax, and Buspar. Whats even more shocking is his daughter, the 12 year old girl, beat about half the class on our last midterm. Its either we didn't study hard enough or this girl is studying too much.

I guess my prof told us this story because he wanted to motivate the class. Who the heck wants to remember psychology as the class a 12 year old girl beat them on the final exam? I know that story motivated me to study but when I come to think about it, competing with a grade 8 child is quite depressing. But hey, at least I'm not competing with 5th graders.

Monday, January 4, 2010

"In my life"

Just when you get a taste of how relaxing feels, you're back at school for another term. So the vending machine door was busted back in last term and last night Shaun came into my room and shouted "the vending machine door is open again!" while he was holding a few drinks. He was so happy haha. I have to say, I was tempted to get some myself but its so mean taking those drinks!

I forgot some stuff at home and won't get them until next week. Booo! But nothing beats Omar, he forgot his keys at home and couldn't get into his room so we were pretty much ready to break down the door. That would have been a great scene but Amanda came and opened the door for him, sighh..... too bad, breaking the door sounded more funny.

I have a Polish prof, a Swedish prof, and a Australian prof this term and all of them have a slight accent. Its going to be an interesting term.